Hi!  You can find information about who I am and what I do in the “About” page, but I thought I’d start off by explaining why I started this blog.  I see so many moms, at work and online, that don’t know where to draw the line between normal worrying about their kids and recognizing when it’s time to get some answers about their child’s communication skills.  Not everyone knows where to go for help, or sometimes the people who they are asking aren’t really listening.  I hope I can be a sounding board to help provide some of those answers and point people in the right direction, whether it’s just a small worry or if it’s something bigger.

My dream is for a time when every child has access to the resources they need to help them learn, grow, play, and share their lives with those who love them.  I would love it if this blog could help accomplish that in some small way.  Each post will take a different subject and try to explain what a family needs to know in a way that you can understand.  We will also try to have a little fun along the way!

If you have a topic you’d like to see addressed in a blog post, I’d love to hear from you!  In the meantime, I have a couple of topics lined up.  First up: stuttering.  It’s a big topic surrounded by a LOT of questions.  We still don’t know as much as we’d like about stuttering, but unfortunately the facts that we do know don’t seem to be widely recognized, even within my own profession.  I find it extremely frustrating and I’d like to try to set the record straight.

After that I plan to write about how children learn language, and what you can do to help.

